Can I swap a 1.6 turbo engine into my mk3 1.1

CVH and Zetec tuning, suspension and braking mods.

Can I swap a 1.6 turbo engine into my mk3 1.1

Postby mean_silver_devil on Wed May 16, 2007 5:47 pm

Hi, I was just wondering if a 1.6 turbo engine fits into my mk3 1.1 with no problems, I am thinking of a t3 conversion too. Will the chasis take all that power without being affected by this power? or do I have to strengthen the chasis.

I am not planing to go over 170-180 bhp. is that power reachable by just tuning the T2 or do I have to do a T3 conversion?

sorry I am new to these stuff :cry:

Thanks for you help.
mean_silver_devil
Newbie Poster
Newbie Poster

Postby Oranoco on Wed May 16, 2007 6:18 pm

Yes it can be done but in all honesty with the costs involved sourcing all the parts you'd be far better off in the long run just buying an RS Turbo.

Never argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience
Oranoco
Elite Post Master
Elite Post Master

Postby j7aoc on Wed May 16, 2007 6:27 pm

All mark 3 shells are the same thing's like lower arm's will have to be changed for rs/2i one's but the shells are the same. Insurance will be more on a converted car and might be a fiesta turbo be will never be a fiesta rs turbo :wink:
j7aoc
Elite Post Master
Elite Post Master

Car: 1991 Ford Fiesta RS Turbo

Postby mean_silver_devil on Thu May 17, 2007 7:49 pm

Thank you guys for your reply, A friend offered to get me the engine in a good condition for a decent price, So I will see the total cost if it was not too high I will go for it. I will update you with pics for my project as soon as I start :) .
mean_silver_devil
Newbie Poster
Newbie Poster

Postby Oranoco on Thu May 17, 2007 7:54 pm

The engine isn't the problem, you'll also need.

Turbo
Exhaust
Radiator
Intercooler
ECU
Wiring loom
Fuel tank & pump
Fuel lines
Brakes
Suspension
etc