Exhaust?

CVH and Zetec tuning, suspension and braking mods.

Exhaust?

Postby Fez4MJ on Fri Mar 03, 2006 12:54 am

Hey,

Im seriously considering a new exhaust as my 1st proper mod towards making my mk4 fez a bit more satisfying to me lol.

I also had a look underneith the car and its basically orange with rust so thats another excuse for it, because the current exhaust and backbox looks fugly.

Can anybody give me any advice? I dont really wanna spend over £100 if can be helped.
I dont want 1 that I can fit my head in, I just want a respectable size that will obviously make the car look nicer and will produce a bit of a meaty noise, but not overly loud.

Plus im no mechanic so I will be getting it fitted by kwikfit or similar place :p - anybody know of the sort of prices they charage?

Any advice on brands etc.?

Thanks!
Fez4MJ
Newbie Poster
Newbie Poster

Location: Essex - Birthplace of the white emulsion painted Nova :P

Postby buggynut on Fri Mar 03, 2006 7:34 pm

you dont need to be a mechanic to fit an exhaust.

i have no mechanical experience but got stuck in.

if you want to keep the cost down fit it yourself. That way you will learn and know your car better.

i saved £50, by fitting my exhaust my self.

my exhaust was a full system so yours should be easier and quick to fit if you just get a back box.
buggynut
Poster
Poster

Postby markanswrth on Fri Mar 03, 2006 8:09 pm

i'm in the same position as you and you'll be struggling to get a new full cat-back system for 100quid, but i recently went to a motorsport show and spoke to a few people and for the price a few people said Ashley exhausts are supposed to be excellent value/quality. try rallydesign.co.uk u'll pick up a system for about £110 plus VAT

as for fitting the thing its not hard if youve got somewhere to get under it and getting the old one off as its most probably rusted on tight. as for fitting cost i'd probably say around 50-60 quid dependin on where u go

hope that helps
mark
markanswrth