FIESTA RS1800 CONVERTED TO ST170 RUNNING GEAR...

CVH and Zetec tuning, suspension and braking mods.

FIESTA RS1800 CONVERTED TO ST170 RUNNING GEAR...

Postby jimmyesh on Fri Oct 20, 2006 4:27 pm

Hi there just joined this site. I've been working on my RS1800 for a few months and it is now all up and running complete with Focus ST170 Engine, 6 spd Box, clocks, ECU/loom, driveshfafts the list goes on...All from a 04reg with only 20k miles on the clock.

The car was featured in Fast Ford modifying guide back in Jan '05 issue when it was running a 220bhp connaught 2.1 normally-aspirated zetec that cost the earth! (and was a pig to drive in busy traffic).

I'd say it has "only" 180 bhp (has bluefin/k&n cone/magnex/no cat) now but it has cost me only a fraction of what you could spend having a fiesta tuned/built by some of these companies.
Also it is fast AND civilised, pulls to nearly 8k, runs nice and cool, is economical too!

The only downside is the sheer amount of work involved in getting all this to fit/run in a mk3 fiesta- lots of welding/cutting/fabricating but now I've almost finshed it and I'm really happy with how it's turned out.

I know it's not the most powerful mk3 rs fez ever built but I think it's more interesting to make something a bit different sometimes and think for yourself.

I am more than happy to give any advice or help to anyone else who wants their RS to have modern st running gear and a six speed box with a hydraulic clutch (no more snapped clutch cables in traffic!!)
If you want to have a look at the photos here's the link:

http://s119.photobucket.com/albums/o122/jimmyesh

Thanks for your time, Jim
jimmyesh
Elite Post Master
Elite Post Master

Your car: Yes

Postby frostie on Sat Oct 21, 2006 10:27 am

very very nice excellent job looks very tidy and not abnormal i bet i drives lovely
2.0ltr FSi running v2.2 megasquirt fitted and mapped by ShortWorx
See http://www.shortworx.tk for all your megasquirt needs
frostie
Post Master
Post Master