Strut Brace Question

CVH and Zetec tuning, suspension and braking mods.

Strut Brace Question

Postby Mightysi on Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:22 pm

I've decided to add one of the above to my mk3 but being too skint :x to buy a new one i decided to make one myself, however i need to know one thing.

Does it actually pull the tops of the suspension in slighty, or is it just to stop them moving? :-?

If anyone knows, or anyone who has one fitted fancy's measuring the distance between the suspension tops (in a straight line) i'd be very grateful :D.
It aint easy, Living free....
Mightysi
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Postby Project_XR2i_Trackcar on Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:38 pm

I'm no expert, but in lamens terms....

.....all it does is stiffen the body.

i think the reason it fits between the struts cos that is where it is most likely to roll/flex if you like. i wouldnt of thought that it pulls or sohould pull the struts inwards as the whole point of it being fitted is to stop them coming in or out.

I have one on both my impreza and my fiesta and they do make a difference. on my impreza i can get a lower front one too, not too sure about the fez though. BTW you can get rear strut braces (as per my fez) which obviously do the same thing.

hope this helps, or maybe someone could correct me or elaborate.

chris

Renault Sport Megane 250 Cup
Ford Fiesta XR2i 2.0 trackcar
Project_XR2i_Trackcar
Elite Post Master
Elite Post Master

Your car: Xr2i

Postby Project_XR2i_Trackcar on Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:39 pm

BTW, i can measure the fez one if you like

its an OMP one for a xr2i 8v (the 16v one is different)

Renault Sport Megane 250 Cup
Ford Fiesta XR2i 2.0 trackcar
Project_XR2i_Trackcar
Elite Post Master
Elite Post Master

Your car: Xr2i

Postby Mightysi on Sat Dec 04, 2004 2:11 pm

thats what i thought, but i wasn't 100%
How come th 8v and 16v are different? I thought that they all used the same shell.