Tech advice please!

CVH and Zetec tuning, suspension and braking mods.

Tech advice please!

Postby phatxr on Thu Jun 06, 2002 12:11 pm

My girlie's dad has a VW sharan 1.8T which is running 180bhp through a 6 speed box, what i want to know is - can i simply shorten the rod on the actuator is increase the boost a little?
Im not an expert on these kind of engines as they're quite a modern design, unlike the old CVH.
Anyone know whether a dump valve will make it lose power as its only a low boosting turbo (i think its aroud 8psi)
Ive talked him into modding it up a bit! :devil: :devil: :devil:

Also, does anyone know of any VW sites?
phatxr
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Postby DaveZetec on Thu Jun 06, 2002 12:27 pm

hmmm.. all im gonna say is stay well away from ur girlfriends dads car. its prolly the last thing in the world you could ever break, short of your own spine.

I'd imagine the ecu would argue with you shortenin the rod a bit, it wopuld think something was up and s**t itself and do wierd stuff. that wot new cars are like, mod anything and they think somethings wrong. It makes it loads more complicated!
DaveZetec
Elite Post Master
Elite Post Master

Postby phatxr on Thu Jun 06, 2002 12:54 pm

I know what your saying about staying away from his car, thats why im asking for advice before going within 10 foot of his turbo!!!
Its quite rapid as it is (considering the size of it) but it ran out of puff at 141 chasing an R1 back from silverstone on monday, he wasn't best pleased!

There must be a vw site that i can go on, Anna, your a golf fan - do you know of any?
phatxr
Senior Poster
Senior Poster

Postby The Bruster on Thu Jun 06, 2002 4:55 pm

Mate, After my recent ordeal I'd strongly reccomend you stay clear.
However if you go forward with it I wish you the best of luck, and your girlie will be well chuffed with you if you sort it :)
ImageImage
The car infront is a Toyota
The Bruster
'80s Suprastar
'80s Suprastar

Postby The Bruster on Thu Jun 06, 2002 4:56 pm